Hat-trick of Titles for Flint Phoenix

With the competitive badminton season at an end and all Senior League fixtures now completed, Flint Phoenix are crowned Champions for the third year in succession. Mold A were their closest rivals finishing 10 points behind second spot. Flint Phoenix B and Llangollen were the two teams who found it the most difficult throughout, ending the season in the two relegation places.

In one of the last matches in Division 1 Mold A beat Denbigh A 7-1 with Jo Thomas adjudged player of the match for Mold together with partner Lily Hird they won a tight three game tussle with Katie Owen and Meinir Hughes by 10/21, 21/18, 21/18.

Gaining their second promotion in as many seasons, undefeated Eros top Division 2 with Mold B easily securing second position. Connah's Quay and Holywell A found themselves at the bottom of the table and will both be playing Division 3 badminton next season.

The final fixtures of the season included home team Eros dispatching Llanferres B 7-1 with the dynamic Mikey Parr together with Sue Clarke producing the visitors only win when they outlasted James Hulley and Sheila Palmer to win their second mixed event by 21/10, 7/21, 21/16.

Mold B wrapped up their programme with an 8-0 win over luckless Holywell A. The mother and son partnership at second mixed, of Trish and Liam Hird were in devastating form and comfortably dispatched Anne Booth and Iain Jones by 21/10, 21/10.

Prestatyn A secured first place in Division 3, with Llanferres C joining them in promotion achieving a very tight second.

Mold C were involved in two matches to finish off their season, losing out to both Llanferres C 6-2 and Flint Phoenix C 5-3. In the Mold C v Llanferres C tie, Llanferres’ Moira Bonar and Pauline Brooke-Rankin starred when they overpowered Alex Much and Chantal Font to win by 21/14, 21/7. In the Flint Phoenix C v Mold C match Eve Ellis and Shamanth Moodalbyle showed how mixed doubles should be played when they beat Chris Travers and Gemma Browne 21/18, 21/13.

Copyright © 2018 North East Wales Badminton Association. All rights reserved.

Made by Barcer