Blazin’B’s of Llanferres hold Llangollen to a 4 – 4 draw.

In Division 1 of the North East Wales Badminton League undefeated Eros are irrepressible and romping away with the championship on 81 points followed by Flint Phoenix A on 69.

Third placed Mold A visited Flint Phoenix A and found the home team in great form and despite a determined display went down 2 – 6. At third mixed Mold’s Jo Thomas and Tom Peace combined well to claim a fine win when they overpowered David Carnelly and Judith Hughes to win by 21/10 and 21/19.

Enjoying the advantage of a home fixture, Llanferres A entertained Denbigh A and in a closely contested event just ran out 5 – 3 winners, although comment on the score-sheet suggested “the better looking team lost”! Matty Vacher and Katie Owen, at second mixed, pulled off a good win over Figo Man and Carys Jones when they played some sublime badminton to win 21/16 and 21/16.

Flint Phoenix B are looking likely to finish top of Division 2; currently with 77 points and Llangollen second on 66.

Llangollen travelled to meet up with the Llanferres Blazin’B’s and in what was a very tight match indeed with six events going into the third game the result ended in a fair 4 -4 draw. What a match! Llangollen took both the ladies doubles to compensate for their men’s losses; at second ladies Viv Drummett together with Viv Davies were outstanding and battled all the way to eventually outlast Sue Clarke and Hazel Hyslop to win by 21/31, 16/21 and 21/19.

Home team, Buckley, notched up an expected win over Llanferres C with the visitors winning but a solitary event at first mixed with June Lovell and the fast improving Matthew Swash out performing Nathan Barron and Charlotte Ince to take the honours 11/21, 21/14 and 21/18.

Division 3 leaders are still Holywell A on 82 points with Connah’s Quay in second place on 77.

Connah’s Quay visited Mold C and in a highly competitive match came away with a deserved 5 – 3 win. Chris Preston Starred for Mold C and together with the talented James Maddocks they got the better of Kris Paterson and Paul Tate to take their very entertaining match by 21/17, 18/21 and 21/8.

Challenge Cup results.

Hawarden (Scr) v Deeside (-3) 10 - 6

Mold A (-4) v Denbigh B (+5) 5 - 11

Prestatyn A (+2) v Llanferres B (-1) 10 – 6

Llangollen (+3) v Flint A (-10) 4 – 12

Mold B (+5) v Buckley (-2) 11 - 5

Badminton England, Senior County League

The NEWBL Team of Heather Astley, Jess Ding, Carys Jones, Jess Markey, Kerry Roberts, Liam Hird, Jamie Noble (Captain) Luke Tanner and Will Toomey were up against the cream of Staffordshire and Worcester recently, resulting in an 8 – 3 win over Worcestershire but going down 7 – 4 to a very good Staffordshire team.

NEWBL Handicap Annual Tournament.

The League Handicap tournament takes place on Sunday 15 March 2020 @ Deeside Leisure Centre and Entry Forms are with Club Secretaries or download from the website.

Copyright © 2018 North East Wales Badminton Association. All rights reserved.

Made by Barcer