Skip to content

Senior League

The North East Wales Badminton League (NEWBL) comprises 15 Senior Clubs, who play badminton in the Flintshire, Denbighshire and Wrexham area. In total there are 25 teams playing in the League, who are split between 3 Divisions.

In each badminton season, teams within a Division play each other home and away.  The match format is 4 seeded mixed doubles, 2 seeded ladies doubles and 2 seeded men’s doubles. So each player plays two, best of three events per match.  The rally point scoring system is used, with games played to 21 points.

For each league match, points are allocated as 2pts for a win, 1pt for a draw and none for a defeat, plus 1pt for every Event won (whether a team has won or lost a match overall).  At the end of a season, Championships, promotions and relegations are decided as per the League Rules.